Gallery

Renewing Myself

I’m on vacation. Or, let me put it this way – I’m not working this week. I’m having six days of decompression. I’ve been overwhelmed with so much going on that I decided that I needed to step back, take a deep breath and focus on me. The remainder of this week is all about new beginnings and renewal.

That’s why I picked the tomato seedling as a photo for this post. The one up above is from Wikimedia (I just love that site!), and the one down below is from my kitchen. I’m growing my own tomato plants from scratch. I say from scratch because it happened my chance.
Tomato Seedlings

Last week I cut open a tomato that I thought was a bit too ripe. When I slit open the skin the seeds were germinating – right there in the fruit! I thought, that’s cool. On a whim, I plucked about six seeds out of the tomato, planted them in an egg crate (two per slot), and lo and behold…I got plants! I’m shocked, but super excited. I seriously didn’t think they’d burst through to the light of day. If you look at the picture closely you’ll see two on the left, one in the middle, and just barely, there is one on the right, starting to poke his little head out of the soil. I’m gonna have some tomato plants this year. Yippee.

These seedlings really made me think about why I took some time off from the the chaos. It takes a lot of effort to poke your head above the soil, so you should probably be doing it because you want to. I’m asking a lot of questions this week, focusing on projects that I’ve let slip through the cracks, and today I found out that I may be getting a scholarship to a school I’ve been yearning to attend – for integrative nutrition.

I originally said that I was going to disconnect entirely from the grid, but I think I’m going to blog through my time away from “real life” and see where it goes. I just might find myself someplace else come the end of the week.

Leave a comment